Village News - Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Historical Society to host Salute to Firefighters

 

Last updated 3/14/2013 at Noon

Retired Fire Captain Mark Strikwerda and Fallbrook Fire Chief Bill Metcalf ride in a 1918 American LaFrance fire truck, owned by the Fallbrook Firefighters Association in the Fallbrook Christmas Parade.

FALLBROOK – The Fallbrook Historical Society will host “A Salute to Firefighters – Past and Present” on Saturday, July 20, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the museum grounds, 1730 Hill Street, (Rocky Crest Road and Hill Street).

A unique collection of antique fire trucks from throughout the county will be on display, including Fallbrook’s own “Alfie.” Also on hand will be Smokey Bear and Pluggie (a radio-controlled fire hydrant), and a fire information booth with gifts for children. North County Fire’s newest engine will also be on display and visitors will get an up-close look at all the latest in fire-fighting technology.

A brief slide presentation entitled “The History of Firefighting in Fallbrook” will be presented at noon, along with remarks from current and past Fallbrook fire chiefs. The program will end with a “Salute to Firefighters” – the community’s expression of gratitude to local firefighters – past and present – for their service and commitment to residents’ safety and well-being.

Refreshments will be served at the end of the program.

All of the Fallbrook Historical Society’s buildings – the Pittinger House, the Museum, the Ford Room, the Rock and Mineral Room, and the Barn – will be open for visitors and docents will be on hand to guide visitors and answer questions.

The event is open to the general public and free of charge.

 

Reader Comments
(0)

 
 

Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017