Village News - Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Brandon Gallery announces winners for 7th annual Small Works Art Exhibition


Last updated 10/3/2013 at Noon

Famed watercolor artist and juror Geri Medway evaluates two of nearly 150 entries entered in Brandon Gallery

FALLBROOK – Brandon Gallery has announced the winners in this artists’ co-operatives’ seventh annual small works art exhibition: “Celebrating the Elements of Art – Mini Size.”

Overall winner as Best of Show is Chick Curtis, an oil painter.

Other winners include Mike Nichols, first place; Martha Cowen, second place; Carol Zaleski, third place; and Mary Gehley and Joyce Thomas, both with honorable mentions.

Angela Koenig, Brandon’s chair for the event, said the gallery changed to “open” categories to put more stress on artistic technique. Winners in those categories were Diane Adams, best composition; Ray Fedorchak, best edge control and best use of color; Tony Radcliffe, best in storytelling; Noreen Ring, best design; and Penny Fedorchak, best use of light.

Juror for the competition was Geri Medway, a signature member of the National Watercolor Society and Watercolor West. Her mastery of the medium is recognized with awards by numerous art festivals and art associations. Medway has authored painting instruction books and taught art workshops in Limoux, France, and Yosemite National Park, among other locales. Her work is held in numerous collections in the US and abroad.

The gallery will host a reception and awards ceremony on Saturday, Oct. 5 from 5 to 8 p.m. Winning and selected art will be on display in the gallery and available for purchase Oct. 1 through 31.

Brandon Gallery is located at 105 N. Main, one door off Alvarado in Fallbrook and is open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, and 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Sunday. For more information, visit


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017