Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

157 netters compete in winter junior satellite open, Bonsall's Johnson wins Girls 18 Singles championship

The 23rd Annual Fallbrook Winter Junior Satellite Tournament, held January 10-18 at the Fallbrook Tennis Club, drew a total of 157 players.

The participants included competitors from San Diego, Riverside, Orange, Los Angeles, Imperial, and Tulare counties.

“It is drawing from quite a large area,” said tournament organizer Dorothy Roth.

The tournament saw 12 divisions in which champions were determined through bracket play and three divisions in which the results of round-robin play determined the champion.

Bonsall’s Michaela Johnson won the championship in the Girls 18 Singles after round-robin competition.

The round-robin Girls 14 Doubles division saw Temecula’s Hana Papaco and Murrieta’s Shannon Waite earn the championship.

Poway’s Savanah Goode and San Diego’s Alex Wong were the winners of the round-robin Mixed 12 Doubles title.

Goode and Waite faced each other in the Girls 12 Singles final with Goode prevailing in 6-2 and 6-0 sets.

Poway’s Olia Javidi won the Girls 10 Singles after a pair of 6-1 victories in the finals over San Diego’s Carolyn Brooner.

Caroline Vincent of Pacific Palisades was the Girls 8 Singles champion; Vincent earned the title with a 6-3, 6-2 win over San Clemente player Lindsay Hung in the championship round.

Santee’s Ja’ana Diamond was the Girls 16 Singles winner; Diamond defeated San Diego’s Melissa Peng in 6-2 and 6-3 sets during the championship match.

The Girls 14 Singles final saw Hemet’s Victoria Hall take a 6-2 win over San Diego’s Nadia Arzberger in the first set and win a 7-2 tiebreaking game after the second set was tied at six games apiece.

Two of the boys singles divisions saw three-set finals with the third set being decided by a tiebreaker after each player had won six games.

In the Boys 14 Singles final between two Carlsbad players, Andrew Barr took a 6-4 victory in the first set while Samuel Farmer captured the second set by a 6-3 margin. Barr took the tiebreaker to win the match.

Carlsbad’s Philippe Rivard won the Boys 12 Singles division after taking the tiebreaker in the third set over San Diego’s Anthony Westphal; Rivard had a 6-2 triumph in the first set while Westphal’s 6-4 victory in the second set sent the match into a third set.

The Boys 18 Singles final was won by Cooper Smith of San Diego, who faced Luke McFerran of Encinitas and took 6-4 and 6-2 victories.

Garret Gooch of San Diego won the Boys 16 Singles title with a 6-4, 6-2 win over San Diego’s Brandon Wong in the finals.

San Diego’s Jeffrey Jackson won the Boys 10 Singles final by defeating his brother Jacob in 7-5 and 6-3 sets.

The Girls 16 Doubles final between the San Diego duo of Andi Cescolini and Claire Tran and the Temecula team of Isabella Espinosa and Christina Orzechowski saw the first set go to a tiebreaker after each team had won six games.

Cescolini and Tran won the tiebreaking game seven points to two and then took the match with a 6-1 win in the second set.

The Boys 18 Doubles final pitted Temecula players Kevin Dowell and Alec Hardin against Temecula competitors Aaron Borgeson and Taylor Joyce. Dowell and Hardin won both sets, 6-1 and 6-4.

“It was a nice tournament,” Roth said. “Well played and a lot of good sportsmanship shown.”

To comment on this story online, visit


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 04/14/2024 19:26