Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Pril receives Warrior water polo MVP award at team banquet

Fallbrook High School’s boys water polo team held its post-season banquet December 2 at Fallbrook Presbyterian Church, and senior Jacob Pril was a unanimous selection for the team’s Most Valuable Player award.

“He had a great season,” said Fallbrook coach Bob Lamont. “He accounted for the majority of our offense.”

Pril’s 228 goals during the season broke the all-time CIF San Diego Section single-season record set in 2000 by Valhalla’s Brett Ormsby and contributed to a career total of 528 goals which broke the all-time section record of 458 set by Alex Perry, who

played for West Hills High School from 2001 through 2004. Pril took 473 shots during the season, giving him a 48 percent shooting percentage, and scored 55 percent of the team’s total goals this year. He also had 102 steals and 28 assists during the 2009 season.

Pril was also a unanimous selection for the Avocado League’s player of the year in water polo. He also earned first-team all-CIF honors, and his season goals total does not include a final tally in the senior all-star game December 5 at Coronado High School.

The team’s players voted for the Most Valuable Player, Most Improved and Most Inspirational awards. Zack Meyer was selected as the Most Improved team member. “Zack didn’t play this Summer but came in late and really established himself as a go-to guy,” Lamont said.

Senior Kevin Reichel was voted the Most Inspirational honor.

“[Reichel] just loves water polo,” Lamont said. “[He] never had a negative comment about anything.

Lamont, junior varsity coach Ken Brower, and novice coach Sean Redmond decided upon the recipients of the Coaches’ Award. Two seniors, Preston Beye and Luke Jones, shared that honor.

“Those guys are true scholar-athletes,” Lamont said. “They paid their dues and handled a lot of the defensive work and were key members of the whole squad.”

Beye and Jones each participated four years in the Warrior water polo program, although that time includes seasons at lower levels.

Lamont also presented game ball awards for the Warriors’ two CIF playoff games. The Warriors began post-season competition November 11 with an 11-10 win over Mount Carmel. Game balls for that match went to Alec Carpenter, who had three goals against the Sundevils, and goalie Bill Shuster, who had nine saves against Mount Carmel including four in the fourth period.

Fallbrook’s season ended November 14 with an 11-10 loss to Rancho Buena Vista in the CIF Division I quarterfinals. Kort Heyneman, who had three goals against the Longhorns, was awarded the game ball.

The banquet also saw 15 varsity letters handed out. The ceremonies also recognized team statisticians Bridget Harrison and Tam Lam.

“Each of these girls made every one of the 31 games that we played,” Lamont said. “They were there and did a tremendous job.”

Fallbrook finished the season with a 23-8 record, including a 10-0 Avocado League record for the league championship. In those 31 games the Warriors scored 413 goals while totaling 566 steals.

Dylan Dawkins was given the junior varsity Most Valuable Player award. Brandon Lee received the JV’s Most Improved honors while Sam Rice was voted Most Inspirational.

Austin Fagrell was the choice for the novice team’s Most Valuable Player recognition. Jeff Gigliotti was voted as the Most Improved novice player while Finn McGrath received Most Inspirational honors.

To comment on this story online, visit


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 02/23/2024 03:16