Top awards presented at annual Boys & Girls Club dinner


Last updated 3/4/2010 at Noon

Selected overall Youth of the Year is Jamie Jacobs, left, who received the honor from Abe Oliveras, CEO of the Boys & Girls Clubs of North County. See more photos and story on page A-3

At its annual awards dinner held the evening of Feb. 23 at Pala Mesa Resort, the Boys & Girls Clubs of North County honored outstanding youth, volunteers, benefactors, and staff members.

Jamie Jacobs, 17, an eight-year member of the club, was named overall Youth of the Year for the organization, an award also known as the Wilbur and Marian Mackey award. Jamie attends Fallbrook High School and is the daughter of Chris and Lisa Ware.

The award is presented to an outstanding member of the club for his or her loyalty, commitment, and service to the organization. This is the highest and most prestigious award a member can receive from the club. The member chosen as Youth of the Year receives a $100 cash award, a plaque, and will represent the club at special events in the community over the next year. Jamie said her future plans include securing her college education then joining the Peace Corps and become a teacher.

Eighteen boys and girls were recognized as Boys and Girls of the Year for each of the club’s nine locations. (See list next to this story)

Jack and August Rockwell were awarded the prestigious Arlyne Ingold Champion of Youth award. This award is presented to an individual(s) or business that provides exceptional service to the club. In determining the recipient of this award, the club looks at: length of service or outstanding support of the organization, involvement in club activities, support of club fundraisers, personal contributions to the club, and being an ambassador for the club in the community. It is the highest honor the club can bestow on an individual or business. Club officials said the Rockwells have been “very supportive” of the organization for over six years. Jack Rockwell serves as the club’s first vice president and also on the audit committee. Rockwell is also active with the Fallbrook Rotary Club and the Foundation for Senior Care.

Numerous special awards were presented at the event. Receiving awards were: Jamie Jacobs, Mike and Beth Reed scholarship award of $1,000; Hector Garcia, Nugent Family ‘Member to Mentor’ scholarship award of $500; Aliyah Stewart, Fair Play award; Megan Lowry, Athlete of the Year; Sydney Myhers, Academic Award; Theresa Cruz, Most Valuable Professional; Dave Moran, Coaching Excellence; Nik Pantic, Volunteer of the Year; Fallbrook Waste and Recycling, Business of the Year; Mary Mack, Woman and Youth award; and Ken Clark, Man and Youth award.

Recognized for making significant contributions to the Boys & Girls Clubs of North County were: the Donegan Burns Foundation, Supervisor Bill Horn, Fallbrook Rotary Club, Gallade Chemical Inc., and Fallbrook Tennis Club.

Numerous individuals were honored for their generosity to the club’s annual fundraising program, Step Up to the Plate. Thirteen were honored for contributing $1,000 to $1,999 to the campaign and seven for donating between $2,000 and $4,999.

The ten charter members of newly formed Regents Club, who have each committed to donate $5,000 or more each year to the club, were recognized that evening as well.

Boys & Girls Clubs

of North County

Girls and Boys of the Year award winners by location

Girls of the Year

Ingold Unit

Isabel Ordonez

Bonsall West

Sommer Phan

Potter Jr. High

Cynthia Olvera

Sullivan Middle School

Mackenzie Miller

Fallbrook St. School

Mari Carmen Garcia -Tovar

Maie Ellis

Julissa Aguilera

Wm. Frazier

Alida Corona

Live Oak

Ivette Sanchez Luna

Vivian Banks

Mirka Alba

Boys of the Year

Ingold Unit

Sebastian Miranda

Bonsall West

Jared Starnes

Potter Jr. High

Brandon Schneider


Jason Whitesell

Fallbrook St. School

Michael Lopez

Maie Ellis

Joseph Castellano

Wm. Frazier

Kasey Kramer

Selected as boys and girls of the year by the Boys & Girls Clubs of North County are, back row from left, Mackenzie Miller, Jamie Jacobs, Brandon Schneider, Ivette Sanchez-Luna, Tristin Shampo, Jason Whitesell, Isabel Ordonez, Cynthia Olvera, and Sommer Phan; front row from left, Julissa Aguilera, Mirka Alba, Alida Corona, German Maruffo, Kasey Kramer, Joseph Castellanos, Michael Lopez, Mari Carmen Garcia-Tovar, and Jared Starnes.

Live Oak

Tristin Shampo

Vivian Banks

German Marrufo


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Reedermedia Logo

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023