Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Music Society announces 2010-2011 lineup

FALLBROOK – In celebration of its 33rd anniversary year, the Fallbrook Music Society announces a lineup of outstanding performances for its 2010-2011 season.

The first will begin with the 25th annual Symphony ‘Pops’ on the Green scheduled for Thursday, August 19 at the Grand Tradition.

“There’s nothing more enjoyable than this evening under the stars as you dine lakeside with your friends and family,” says Judy Siodmak. “Plan to bring your own picnic, low-back lawn chairs or a blanket for this remarkable Fallbrook tradition.”

An overview of the rest of the new season is as follows:

Symphony series

The opening performance on Sunday, October 11, features the Redlands Symphony with the remarkably talented cellist, Jonah Kim who will present his powerful, fresh and unique interpretation of Elgar’s Cello Concerto in E minor. In addition to the mighty cello artist, this four-concert series will be followed in the new year with the Redlands Symphony and its concert master Pavel Farkas, performing a sensitive rendition of Beethoven’s Violin Concerto on January 30. Noted soprano Angel Blue and Mezzo-Soprano Rebecca Robinson along with four combined choruses will join the Redlands Symphony in an extraordinary performance of Mahler’s great musical epic “The Resurrection,” on May 22. International artists, The Chamber Orchestra Kremlin with Music Director Misha Rachlevsky, and harpist Elena Mashkovtseva will bring the great Russian school of string playing, and a fascinating harp concerto on March 6.

Virtuoso series

The Virtuoso Series lineup brings critically acclaimed pianist Martina Filjak to town November 14, playing Chopin favorites, Prokofiev and a unique performance of “Prelude and Nocturne for Left Hand.” Ms Filjak from Croatia is a galvanizing artist and the First Prize Winner of the 2009 Cleveland International Piano Competition. Patrons will be amazed by the saxophone playing of the Italian Saxophone Quartet. Back by popular demand, these four remarkable artists will command the stage and enchant the audience with their personalities, exceptional talents and an eclectic program on March 27, 2011.

Holiday concert

Begin the Christmas holiday season on Saturday, December 4 with a program of traditional and familiar music in a variety of styles performed by the William Chunestudy Men’s Chorus, making its second appearance in Fallbrook. A cappella works as well as those accompanied by instrumentalists will be featured throughout this concert of the season.

A variety of ticket options are offered for the 2010-2011 Fallbrook Music Society season. Season ticket subscribers have the opportunity to attend pre-concert lectures. For more information, call (760) 451-8644 or visit


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 07/21/2024 08:49