Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Pala Poker Open Deepstack Tournament winners announced

PALA - Marc Pierson of Oceanside, CA, went all-in with an Ace Spades, 6 Diamonds and beat David Rodiguez’, Chula Vista, CA, King Clubs, 9 Clubs Sunday, Aug. 22 to win the two-day final DeepStack Tournament in the Pala Poker Open. The final six players agreed to a six-way chop and Pierson, Rodriguez, Steve Gee of San Diego, CA; Ed Klein, Arcadia, CA; William Van Lam, Temecula, CA, and Wade Morgan, Wildomar, CA, each won $4,367. The final board was Queen Spades, 3 Clubs, 3 Diamonds, 5 Hearts and Queen Diamonds. Eighteen of the 116 entrants cashed in the tournament that began at 11 a.m., Saturday, Aug. 21.

Other winners included Alan Ho, San Diego, $1,392; Albert Wallake, Temecula, CA, $1,044; Janet Burke, Nuevo, CA, $783; Quyen Lap On, Chula Vista, CA; David Ausman, Mission Viejo, CA, and Mauricio Polack, Murrieta, CA, $679 each; Rip Fritzen, El Cajon, CA; Buff Harris, Orlando, FL; Amy Gonzalez, Oceanside, CA; Betty Trenberth, Vista, CA; Ben Brown, San Diego, Mike Kiplitz, San Diego, $592 each.

The Pala Poker Open was co-sponsored by DeepStacks Live, the industry leader in poker training, and started Saturday, Aug. 14. It featured a daily No Limit Hold’em tournament and an advanced poker training course on Friday, Aug. 20, taught by World Series of Poker Main Event Champion Tom McEvoy and three-time WSOP bracelet winner Mike “The Mouth” Matusow. The pro players also participated in the DeepStack final but finished out of the money.

Harris finished in the money three times. In addition to the $592 he won in the final, he finished third on Aug. 18 and won $568.75 and sixth on Aug. 19 and won $760.

Five local players, Van Lam, Trenberth, Scott Murrie, San Marcos, CA, Aaron Mortinsen, Escondid, CA, and Andrea McNew, Ramona, CA, were two-time winners.

Murrie took first place in the opening tournament, winning $3,060 and finished seventh on Aug. 19 to earn an additional $760. In addition to the $592 that Trenberth won in the final, she also finished eighth in the first tournament and earned $300. Van Lam took first and won $2,070 in the third tournament Aug. 16, and won $760 for a seventh-place finish in the sixth tournament, Aug. 19. Mortinsen finished sixth on Aug. 14 and won $300, then third on Aug. 17 and won $1,060. McNew finished sixth on Aug. 17 and won $398, and second on Aug. 19 and won $760.

Tournament Results:

Saturday, Aug. 14; $225+$25; 44 Entrants; Prize Pool, $9,900

First, Murrie, $3060; Second, George Aposlian, Vista, CA, $2025; Third, Andrea McNew, Ramona, CA, $1,335; Fourth, Laura Wakeland, Cedar Glenn, CA, $1,059; Fifth, David Campise, Las Vegas, NV, $921; Sixth, Mortinsen, $300; Seventh, Vinnie Engen, Orange, CA, $300; Trenberth, $300; Anastasia Melbrod, Rancho Santa Fe, CA, $300, Tim Anders, $300.

Sunday, Aug. 15; Ladies International Poker Series (LIPS); $110+$25; 80 Entrants; Prize Pool: $8,000

First, Marlene Holoman, Northridge, CA, $2,800; Second, Jonathan Crawford, San Deigo, $1,400; Third, Peggy Diaz, Vista, CA, $880; Fourth, Dee Dee Cole, Mission Viejo, CA, $720; Joy Adams, Rancho Cucamonga, CA, $560; Liz Meoina, San Pedro, CA, $480; Seventh, Mary Ann Boucher, Riverside, CA , $400, Eighth, Mary Ryan, Waunakee, WI, $320: Ninth, Vera Murillo, Lake Forest, CA, $240, Tenth, Rori Long, $200.

Monday, Aug. 16; $65+$10; 91 Entrants; Prize Pool: $5,915

First, Van Lam, $2,070; Second, Scott Dazey, San Diego, $1,035; Third, Phil Denadel, Escondido, CA, $651; Fourth, Luis Davila, Temecula, CA, $532; Fifth, Nina Kim, San Marcos, CA, $414; Sixth, James Keyes, Pala, CA, $355;

Seventh, Al Tabon, Carson, CA, $296; Eighth, Ray Romasanta, $237; Ninth, Ralph Votel, San Diego, $177, Tenth, Joe Saunders, Lake Elsinore, CA, $148.

Tuesday, Aug. 17; $125+$25; 53 Entrants; Prize Pool: $6,625 (6 max table)

First, Suriyan Bhinestien, Temecula, CA, $2,185; Second, Fernando Balanos, $1,193; Third, Mortinsen, $1,060; Fourth, Davie Akahosi, Irvine, CA, $795; Fifth, Jami Jones, Temecula, CA, $596; Sixth, Andrea McNew, Ramona, CA, $398, Seventh, Michael Kaplitz, San Diego, $398.

Wednesday, Aug. 18; $75+$10; 91 Entrants; Prize Pool: $6,825

12-way chop; all finalists won $568.75. Jimmie Hodje, Riverside, CA; Miguel Wellington, Oceanside, CA; Harris; Bill Richard, Carlsbad, CA; January Lim, Temecula, CA; Jim Page, San Marcos, CA; David Rodriguez; Thomas White, Poway, CA; Robert Ochoa, Fallbrook, CA; Justin Hagan, Palm Desert, CA; Nicholas Wehr; Gary Crawford, Poway, CA.

Thursday, Aug. 19; $175+$25; 35 Entrants; Prize Pool: $7,125

First, Eric Saikin, $1,805; Second, McNew; Third, Ramon Ramil, Murrieta, CA; Fourth, Jason Jacinto, San Diego; Fifth, Wally Joseph, Laguna Hills, CA; Sixth, Harris; Seventh, Murrie, and Eighth, Kristen Penny, Temecula, CA, $760 each.

Information on games and events at Pala Casino Spa & Resort can be viewed at


Reader Comments(0)