Village News - Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Pala Tribe announces election results


Last updated 11/26/2014 at Noon

PALA – The Pala Band of Mission Indians announced last week that all of the incumbent candidates for the Tribal Council were overwhelmingly re-elected, including Chairman Robert Smith.

Theresa Nieto, who has served on the Tribal Council since 2001, was re-elected Treasurer and Sheila Lopez was re-elected to a second term as Councilmember At-Large, a position she has held since 2012. Chairman Robert Smith has served as chairman since first being elected in 1990.

“I am extremely proud to continue to serve the Tribe as chairman,” said Robert Smith, re-elected Tribal Chairman of the Pala Band of Mission Indians. “We had a great election turnout and the strong support for all members of the Tribal Council shows confidence in the progress we have made culturally, socially and economically. The Tribal Council and I look forward to continuing this progress and achieving even more in the years to come.”

The election was held Nov. 18. Tribal Council members each serve a two-year term, with half of the Tribal Council up for election each year. The other offices of Vice-Chairman, Secretary and the other Tribal Councilmember At-Large are voted on in odd-numbered years.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Reedermedia Logo

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023