Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

FHS cheer celebrates another great year

FALLBROOK – On March 7, the enthusiastic FHS Cheer Board, headed by president Shanelle Jones, hosted the end-of-year banquet at the beautiful Pala Mesa Resort with a Disney Princesses theme. Coach Escely Marr was honored for being a fantastic coach, especially with the challenges of being new this year and having to unexpectedly coach both varsity and JV squads.

Coach Marr gave special recognition and thanks to the varsity cheer captains and all of the seniors for "really guiding me. This year has been a learning lesson, not only for you guys, but for me. Not only is a coach supposed to teach you lessons, that ultimately you are going to use for the rest of your life, but you have taught me a lot about myself and I could not have done it without you. From creating routines to really taking over the team, when I had to balance both teams, it's been a huge help. Thank you!"

Speaking on behalf of the squad, Taylor Durick summed up their gratitude to the coach with praises of "thank you for teaching us how to be better cheerleaders, and better people... just thank you for being so beautiful and showing us what true beauty looks like."

Five varsity cheerleaders were recognized for their commitment to the teams over the past four years with specially made picture shadow boxes. In addition, squad members were recognized for their academic achievements, and team and individual award winners were recognized also for their accomplishments.

Throughout the gala event, a wonderful slide/video show was shown capturing the highlights of the year which was artfully compiled by varsity cheerleader Gabrielle Bachman. The banquet may have been the end of the 2015- 2016 season, but the memories shared and the bonds created will last a lifetime!

Cheer awards

Most Improved: V- Caitlin Parsons, JV- Yvonne Damian

Best Sportsmanship: V- Taylor Durick, JV- Danielle Velez

Warrior Award: V- Jennifer Shedd, JV- Olivia Engebretson

Team MVP: V- Mallory Bender, JV- Jasmine Durpree

Most Spirited: Geneva Boyd

Most Dedicated: Bailey Schaffer

4-Year Senior Award: Madison Register, Jessica Salyers, Mariah Sellier, Jennifer Shedd, Shantel Romo

Outstanding Senior Award: Shantel Romo

Cheerleader of the Year: Mariah Sellier


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/29/2024 15:17