Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

California Music Hall Of Fame announces current class of inductees and awards ceremony

TEMECULA – The California Music Hall of Fame is honored to announce its current class of inductees. The induction event, to be held on Sept. 23, in Temecula, will be hosted by the legendary Wink Martindale.

This year’s class of inductees features a diverse group of music legends and collaborators and includes Bobby Kimball (frontman for the band Toto), Frank Garcia and Cannibal & The Headhunters, Jason Scheff (Chicago), BJ Thomas, Laurence Juber (Wings), Jimi Sohn (“Gloria”), Chuck Negron (formerly of Three Dog Night), Shotgun Tom Kelly (Sirius Radio DJ) , Dennis Tufano (The Buckinghams), Mike Pinera (Blues Image), Gary Puckett via video (Union Gap), Leon Hughes (The Coasters), Sanford Townsend Band, Ron Dante (The Archies), Rick Derringer ( “Hang on Sloopy"), Carol Kaye (First Lady of Bass), Merrilee Rush (“Angel of the Morning”), Larry Tamblyn (The Standells), Terry Sylvester (The Hollies), Joey Molland (Badfinger), Ron Whitaker (rock and roll drummer and humanitarian), Catz and the Hatz, and Chris Montez (“Let’s Dance”) and surprise guests.

Of particular note are the special recognition of artists and music personalities. The Ritchie Valens Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to Chris Montez, The Carol Kaye Inspiration Award to Merrilee Rush, The BJ Thomas Raindrops Awards to Wink Martindale and Shotgun Tom Kelly, and The Spirit Award to Laurence Juber.

The awards show festivities include introductions of inductees, awards acceptances and performances by many of those honored. The ceremony takes place Sept. 23 at the TVHS Golden Bears Theater located at 31555 Rancho Vista Road, starting at 3 p.m.

Tickets for the general public are available through No tickets will be sold at the door.

Submitted by the California Music Hall of Fame.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/24/2024 08:26