Marines, Sailors of Year honored


Last updated 3/5/2009 at Noon

US Navy Lt. James Foster (left) introduces MA 2nd Class Jonathan Becerra of the Fallbrook Naval Weapons Station, who was named Sailor of the Year.

FALLBROOK — For their annual military awards luncheon ceremony, combined Rotary clubs from Fallbrook, Oceanside and Camp Pendleton gathered at the Grand Tradition in Fallbrook to honor the Marines and Sailors of the Year from Camp Pendleton Marine Corps Base, US Navy ACU 5 Base at Camp Pendleton and the Naval Weapons Station Fallbrook at Camp Pendleton.

Officers, NCOs, marines and sailors in attendance included Colonel Philippe D. Rogers, US Marines; Lt. CMDR Max Dupont, US Navy ACU 5; and Lt. James W. Foster, Security Officer, US Navy Weapons Seal Beach.

Following a delicious tri-tip meal, Col. Rogers introduced Marine of the Year Cpl. Rachel C. Hart and NCO of the Year Sgt. David E. Vogt II, Camp Pendleton.

US Navy Lt. Cmdr. Max Dupont (right) poses with IT 1st Class Cherwanna Jefferson (left) and QM 1st Class Christopher Allen.

Lt. Cmdr. Dupont introduced Seaside Sailor of the Year Christopher W. Allen, QM 1st Class (S/W A/W), and Shoreside Sailor of the Year Cherwanna L. Jefferson, IT 1st Class (S/W), ACU5.

Lt. Foster introduced Sailor of the Year Jonathan C. Becerra, MA 2nd Class, Fallbrook Naval Weapons Station.

Each recipient received a handsome wall plaque recognizing their award and commendation for service. Awards were made to the recipients by the presidents of the three Rotaries.

The annual military awards luncheon rotates from Rotary Club to Rotary Club meeting location and is part of their ongoing combined effort to recognize excellence and superior performance in, and support of, local military personnel.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Reedermedia Logo

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023