Village News - Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Bonsall Woman's Club honors Girls of Year


Last updated 5/31/2007 at Noon

BONSALL — The 13th Annual Girl of the Year Awards Tea, sponsored by the Bonsall Woman’s Club (BWC), was held May 17 at the Bonsall Community Center. Hawaiian leis, tropical fish and delicious food awaited the girls, their teachers, sponsors and parents and school and community leaders. It was a celebration honoring the young ladies for their achievements, culminating a year of community service.

Throughout the year BWC mentors Judy Barnett, Beth Goodlake, Jackie Mateas and Pat Aspray worked with the girls at their schools on various projects, including Christmas cards to seniors, sock collecting for the homeless, valentines for the Marines at Camp Pendleton and Blue Bears for the firemen of North County to take to children in trauma. In addition to their community service projects, each girl maintained at least a 3.0 GPA, had excellent citizenship and wrote an essay on “Why I Should Be Girl of the Year.”

Girl of the Year 2000, Amy Hansen, now a graduating senior at Fallbrook High, gave a moving speech on what being Girl of the Year has meant to her. Hansen has continued with service to the community and being Girl of the Year has inspired her to maintain a high standard of excellence. She points the way for these girls:

• Bonsall West Elementary fifth-graders Damaris Luis, Emily Garcia, Kayla Abille, Lupe Valencia, Maria Ramirez, Mirna Monreal and Teyana Watson. Girl of the Year 2007: Tiara Siaton.

• Bonsall Elementary fifth-graders Diana Riddle, Emily Strickfaden, Rachell Bell, Sydney Myhers and Tabatha Williams. Girl of the Year 2007: Jessica Lane.

• Sullivan Middle School eighth-graders Alexa Gilbert, Alexa Villelli, Courtney Bode, Paula Azevedo and Susan McClay. Girl of the Year 2007: Jaime Lusher.

Vivian Banks Charter School honors occurred on April 30. Ariana Velazco, Heidi Marquez, Mariela Corona and Sally Orozco were nominated, along with Girl of the Year 2007 Nereyda Rangel.

Previous Girls of the Year were welcomed back, including Leigh Lawrence, Vernice Salazar, Sarah Victor and Vanessa Cortez from 2006; Jessica Lusher, Nicole Bell, Rebecca Ellithorpe and Gisella Sanchez from 2005; Suzy Mellano and Jade Lawrence from 2004; and Amy Hansen from 2000.

Certificates were presented by Leigh Ann Howard, Bonsall Chamber of Commerce President, and Tony Flores, Vice President. Pacific Western Bank gave each winner a $50 savings bond. BWC President Donna Shanahan presented each winner with a $200 scholarship and each girl also received a “goodie bag” filled with gifts.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020