Also serving the communities of De Luz, Rainbow, Camp Pendleton, Pala and Pauma

Fallbrook student athletes, Coach Waite honored by CIF - Waite named CIF-SD field hockey coach of the year

Fallbrook High School coach Kathy Waite was selected as the CIF San Diego Section field hockey coach of the year.

The coach of the year awards for all eight CIF-sanctioned Fall sports were announced January 25 at the San Diego Hall of Champions. The ceremony also saw the presentation of all-CIF awards, eight of which went to Fallbrook High School athletes.

“It’s wonderful to have your name on there, on the CIF Breitbard Award,” Waite said of her honor.

(The Breitbard Athletic Foundation oversees all-CIF selections and presents certificates to honored players and coaches.)

“It’s lovely to be chosen. I’ve never been chosen before, so that’s even better,” Waite said.

Waite was unable to attend the awards ceremony, as she was teaching a CPR class that night. Seven of the eight Fallbrook athletes honored were present. Field hockey players Kyle Little, Lauren Hughey, and Jahna Jordan were in attendance while field hockey player Christine Russell was unable to make the trip to San Diego. Tennis players Hailey Johnson, Michaela Johnson, and Jessica Willett were present to receive their award certificates, as was water polo player Jacob Pril.

“Just great to have those kids honored,” Waite said. “They deserve it.”

Waite noted that having four of her players receive all-CIF honors was as exciting as her own honor. “That was awesome,” she said.

Fallbrook High School’s field hockey team reached the CIF Division I finals before a 1-0 loss to San Pasqual. The Warriors finished the season with a 20-7 overall record, including two CIF playoff wins and the championship loss, and a 6-4 Avocado League record which tied for third in the league standings. The Warriors also reached the Serra Tournament finals before a 1-0 defeat by Scripps Ranch in the championship match.

“There’s a lot of other people that I think deserve it,” Waite said of her coach of the year award. “So many coaches in North County do so much.”

The coaches of each sport select their annual coach of the year. All 2009-10 coach of the year recipients will be honored at the October 2010 meeting of the CIF Board of Managers.

Little, a senior midfielder, was named to the all-CIF first team while Russell, Hughey, and Jordan earned all-CIF second team honors. Russell is a senior defender, Hughey is a junior forward, and Jordan is a junior goalkeeper.

The Johnson sisters reached the CIF doubles finals before losing in the championship match to a Poway High School duo; Willett reached the CIF singles quarterfinals before a loss to eventual CIF singles champion - and CIF player of the year - Lacy Smyth. All three received all-CIF first team recognition. Michaela Johnson is a senior; Hailey Johnson and Willett are juniors.

Pril, a senior, was named to the all-CIF second team. His 228 goals during the season broke the all-time CIF San Diego Section single-season record set in 2000. Pril also had 102 steals and 28 assists during the 2009 season.

To comment on this story online, visit


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/22/2024 04:52